About Ecuador

Official Name:  Republic of Ecuador
Area:  256.370 KM2
Capital:  Quito
Form of Government:  Democratic
President:  Econ. Rafael Correa Delgado
Principal Cities:  Quito, Guayaquil, Cuenca
Language:  Spanish
Independence Day:  August 10th
Currency:  US Dollars
Religion:  Catholic is the dominant religion, Freedom of religion
Population:  14,67 million


Straddling the equator in western South America, Ecuador has territories in both the Northern and the Southern hemispheres. It borders Colombia to the north and shares a border Peru to the south and to the east. The Pacific Ocean is Ecuador's western border. Ecuador, 256,370 square kilometers in size, is geographically divided into four regions (the Amazon, the Highlands, the Coast, and the Galapagos Islands) and is politically split into 24 provinces.

Ecuador has 4 natural regions:

  • The Coast
  • The Highlands
  • The Amazon
  • The Galapagos Islands

Ecuadorian Food

Ecuador is known for its wide variety of fruits, bananas, passion fruits, papayas, world class seafood such as jumbo shrimp, and an incredible mixture of Andean products with coastal products across the country. You’ll find delicious menus from which you can select national and regional recipes.

Visit our website to learn more about Ecuadorian Food.